PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Phalanx Soldier Help

tatszico
2017-02-19, 08:31 PM
Hey! Was wondering if anyone can help me optimize a Phalanx Soldier fighter to have good damage output for being a defensive archetype. I'm quite new to Pathfinder, so I'm not totally familiar with a lot of the feats and traits yet.

So I was thinking of taking two-weapon fighting, improved shield bash, and power attack at 1st level. Then, at 3rd level when I can wield a polearm/spear, I'll either take Improve Bullrush or Combat Reflex, depending on if I want to play more defensively or offensively at that time.
One of my end goals is to have Shield Slam so that I may get the free Bull Rush. That's why I took TWF - if they get too close, I can shield bash, get my free Bull Rush, 5-foot step back, and then finish the attack with my long reach weapon. Does that make sense and work, or am I not getting the mechanics right? Haha.

But yeah, that's what I have set up for now. I would like to ask if there is anything wrong with what I have so far, and if there is anything else I can do to improve it. What other feats should I take? I think Shield Mastery will be one of them, but other than that, anything else to help out?
Are there any classes worth dipping into for multiclassing? What about armor and weapons, which type of armor should I focus on (medium or heavy) and which long-reach weapon would be the best for this build?

Geddy2112
2017-02-19, 09:39 PM
You have the jist of the build down. As a fighter, you get a bonus feat at second level, so you can pick up combat reflexes then. You don't really need improved bull rush, as shield slam gives a free bull rush that does not provoke. Greater bull rush is okay if the rest of the party can make use of it but it is not really all that good.