PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.x Other Base Race Features Redone Feedback / Critique

Avendesora
2017-02-22, 11:18 AM
Heya everyone,

Ever since the first time I read the abilities and features of the base races in 3.5 D&D / Pathfinder I've found them rather dull; a big list of situtational flat number bonusses, where every dwarf ever has had specialized combat training against giants. So since the start I've been wanting to redo them, and just got done for the base races+. A large portion of abilities come from different editions or posts on the internet, but since I'm far from an expert or an experienced player, I thought I'd ask here for feedback, advice and critique.
I'm not looking for perfectly balanced, optimized races, and for actual power I'm fine with them being better than the base races in the book. I just hope to make each race have something unique and active they have/can do that sets them apart from the other races, but keeping them close enough to each other in terms of overal power.

To achieve this each race has the following:
- Normal race stuff: Size, Movement, Languages, Favoured Class
- Ability Score Adjustment (avarages out on 0)
- Additional Starting Health (hoping to bump up level 1 health)
- ~4 points worth of Skill Bonus
- Two impactful, useful Passive features
- One Useable / Active racial ability
- (occasionally something special, like elf/orc blood)

Considering giving each race a racial weapon as well, to give the exotic weapons some more use, but not sure on that yet.

Human
I've never really been sure about the whole 'jack of all trades, hard worker' thing humans had going on. I've always seen them more as a race that has to work together and combine skills to achieve the same as the more naturally gifted races. Nevertheless decided to keep them as the generalist race. They currently don't have an Active ability yet, partly because I hadn't come up with one yet, and because I felt they'd surpass the other races.