PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Needing help with Dark Heresy 1st Ed. Tech-Priest.

FatherRaven85
2017-02-28, 12:30 AM
I just started playing in a 1st Edition Dark Heresy campaign for the first time. I ended up rolling a tech-priest, and I was looking for a good build to make. I have the core book and The Inquisitor's Handbook available, with potential additions from other books on a case-by-case basis. I like the idea of the Mechanicus Secutor a lot. Here's my stat line:

WS 30
BS 35
S 35 (Unnatural 2x)
T 33
Ag 28
Int 38
Per 33
WP 40
Fel 24

I took the Divine Light of Sollex background, Forge World background, and rolled for the Hideous Strength Major Mutation from my Divination. My GM has already said that he will allow The Flesh Is Weak from The Lathe Worlds. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Chijinda
2017-03-03, 04:52 PM
Nobody so far? Geeze.

Alright then, let's see what I can do. I don't have a lot of experience with Lathe Worlds, my group primarily uses the Inquisitor's Handbook and Core Rulebook, but let's take a look here.

Your toughness is disappointingly low, (35 would have been great), which is a shame, because along with Arbitrators, Tech Priests are one of the best tank careers in the game. But I suppose you more than make up for it with that Unnatural Strength (how did you get Unnatural Strength btw?).

Intelligence is one of the Tech Priest's easiest to raise stats, and along with Tech Use this makes them THE best Tech users in the party. I would honestly say if you're not maxing Tech Use and Intelligence as a Tech Priest you're doing it wrong.

You have Unnatural Strength so you're pretty good on Strength for pretty much the rest of the game. Tech Priests don't have the characteristic advances or talents to make amazing melee fighters, unlike Guardsmen or Assassins and they don't get broken weapons like Force Swords like Psykers do, so I wouldn't invest too heavily in Weapon Skill or Strength.