PDA

View Full Version : What is your favorite spell?

NecroDancer
2017-03-05, 12:08 PM
Mine would be suggestion just becuase it's so versatile with the right wording.

Blink is also pretty fun just because of the randomness.

solidork
2017-03-05, 12:31 PM
Spirit Guardians, mostly because it is a spell that really lets you sell a HUGE variety of character concepts based on what you decide the summoned spirits look like. For example, my War Cleric has a greatsword that has been passed down his family line for a thousand years, and he summons the spirits of his greatest ancestors who wielded that blade.

Before 5e came out and I started playing my War Cleric, Dimension Door was easily my favorite. It's not quite as amazing in 5e as it was before since you can only take one creature with you, but once you can cast it twice, you can do crazy infiltration stuff that would be totally impossible otherwise.

It's funny, watching Jessica Jones has sort of lessened how much I like Suggestion. On the other hand, Suggestion means that you might not have to torture people which is nice.("Answer all of our questions as honestly and completely as you can.")

Sans.
2017-03-05, 12:47 PM
I have so many... Fireball has to be one, because the best CC is getting rid of the C, and Counterspell just to annoy the DM; Disintegrate and Meteor Swarm for pure awesomeness, Forcecage and Reverse Gravity for brokenness, Prismatic Spray for fun, a Gate to the Plane of Fire to literally rain fire for a minute...

Honestly though, and there is no real contender, Wish. Obviously.

DracoKnight
2017-03-05, 12:57 PM
I have several favorite spells, so l I'll try to keep this brief:

1) Green-flame blade: I play gishes a lot and so to get a spell that blends weapons and magic was awesome. Wait, I can cast it at-will from 1st level? Hoo, boy that's even better!