PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Making the most of a middling character with terrible rolls? (Ranger UA)

Varkhan
2017-03-18, 11:30 AM
Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to D&D and feel I am missing something. I have a now Level 5 Ranger-UA (Hunter Conclave) and have kind of hit a wall. I started with very low stats because we were rolling for them and I didn't want to risk losing my +4 to Dex. I decided to go with it, because it all made sense roleplay-wise with the way I wanted to play the character. While I'm quite satisfied with the way the adventure's been going, I feel like I haven't had the chance to shine in combat very much. Once or twice, my damage output was instrumental in taking down our foes, but sadly I tend to get focused if there's a large creature and I also am plagued to roll very, very poorly on saves (or anything really).

I don't know how to best serve my group in combat, other than shooting stuff a lot. With advantage on Initiative, due to Natural Explorer, and advantage on the first attack if the target hasn't acted this encounter, I should be doing okay. I have a feeling I'm not using Stealth enough as I should to get the drop on my enemies. I think maybe I am also terrible at positioning myself in combat, so thinking more strategically in that regard would help my party get opportunity attacks should the enemy insist on getting to me.

Multiclassing is not really allowed at the table, but my DM and I managed to agree that Grave Domain Cleric made more sense, because of the way the story and my character have evolved. I was thinking about dipping into that ASAP, in order to get spells like Guidance, Bless, Guiding Bolt and Bane which seem very useful.

Any help you can provide is appreciated.

As of Level 5, my sheet looks like this:
Strength: 8
Dexterity: 18
Constitution: 13
Intelligence: 12
Wisdom: 14
Charisma: 4

Spells:
Lvl 1: Hunter's Mark, Cure Wounds
Lvl 2: Pass Without Trace, Spike Growth