PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Devotion Paladin Help: DM Too Strict?

Chet_Wrongman
2017-03-20, 08:03 PM
Hi, this is my first time posting, I'm hoping for some helpful responses. My DM is usually great, but he's a bit strict when it comes to paladin oaths. Instead of taking devotion paladin tenants for what they are, kind of vague, he almost forces RP on me. He thinks that my paladin shouldn't be able to do anything remotely not within his interpretation of the tenants, even though these actions may cause more good later. My question to you guys is, should devotion paladin tenants be set in stone, or are they vague enough to be stretched for the greater good?

Alkerite
2017-03-20, 08:09 PM
Hi, this is my first time posting, I'm hoping for some helpful responses. My DM is usually great, but he's a bit strict when it comes to paladin oaths. Instead of taking devotion paladin tenants for what they are, kind of vague, he almost forces RP on me. He thinks that my paladin shouldn't be able to do anything remotely not within his interpretation of the tenants, even though these actions may cause more good later. My question to you guys is, should devotion paladin tenants be set in stone, or are they vague enough to be stretched for the greater good?

Well friend, everything within the books are guidelines. So technically speaking, both of you are right. However, what the DM says, goes, but if you dislike how things are going, you can always talk about the concern with the DM (DnD should be fun for everyone, after all)
And if he continues to be adamant, then just bring up how Paladins were changed to be a bit less restrictive, and that forcing them to play like paladins of yore is not to your tastes.

Kane0
2017-03-20, 08:11 PM