PDA

View Full Version : How do I stop sucking as a DM?

Bonecrusher
2007-07-26, 07:20 PM
No, really. I've been playing D&D semi-regularly for a few years now. Started out playing with a group who never went past a single session on any one campaign, and didn't really play much by the rules. I ended up doing my best to form my own group, and found myself as the only person with the experience (hah hah), or will to DM. So, I have played almost none in the past two years, and have had to DM, even though I've gotten pretty sick of it and would rather just play. But, I'm still the only one really willing to DM, and I'm running into a problem challenging one of my players, someone on here as a matter of fact. He's smart, creative, and knows how to make a character better and faster than I do, and should, by all rights, be the one DMing. But, he doesn't like to, and I can respect that.

I've lost all desire to DM. I admit it. When I started, I was quite excited to DM, and was more than happy to do so. Creating a world with characters to interact with the PCs was fun and coming up with adventures for them was exciting, but lately, I feel like I'm repeating myself, and nothing is new and exciting. I've tried mixing it up a little, tried out d20 Modern, but, eh, I guess I'm just more of a fantasy person.

I suppose it might be this issue with lack of creativity/interest that's giving me such a problem challenging my one steady player (the rest of the "group" is much easier to challenge. MUCH easier). Or it might be the fact that I only have that one steady player, and a small satellite group of people who can play maybe once a month if I'm lucky. I'm not sure. Thankfully, the number of people in my group should go up again come fall. Hopefully.

So, I come before you all humbly asking tips to revive my dead/sleeping love of DMing, and maybe give my players a bit of a challenge again.

Quietus
2007-07-26, 07:28 PM
Put aside the DM hat for a couple months.