PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Chaotic Good fallen paladin?

UnwiseAlistair
2017-04-06, 06:42 PM
So I know blackguard exists for paladins who become evil, but is there something that works for a paladin who falls on the law/chaos scale rather than good/evil? I'm pretty new to pathfinder so I'm wondering if there's something in one of the bazillion books for something like this.

Sayt
2017-04-06, 07:16 PM
There is the gray paladin from Ultimate Intrigue, but that only gets you to NG, not CG.

Jarmen4u
2017-04-06, 07:31 PM
Google Paladin of Freedom. It's a class variant where the paladin can be CG instead of LG.

souridealist
2017-04-06, 07:38 PM
I don't know of any, sadly - it would be really cool. I wish we got more discussion of paladins falling on the law/chaos axis, but it doesn't come up a lot, probably because it's harder to do.

3.5 had a chaotic good paladin variant in some sourcebook or other, and it's very easy to cook up in Pathfinder; you can basically just swap 'law' with 'chaos' and vice versa on the paladin page and switch the levels when you get Aura of Courage vs Aura of Resolve and you're good to go. I don't know if that's quite what you wanted, though.

Is this a thought experiment, or do you have a paladin character who you're thinking might fall? If you're in the second situation, I might look at retraining some of the levels as cleric levels, depending on what deity your paladin served. (It would make a lot more sense for Sarenrae than Abadar, for example.)

But yeah, I don't think there's a prestige class for that exact scenario. I'd love to be wrong, though.

Bohandas
2017-04-06, 07:56 PM
There's the Holy Liberator (I think from either Complete Divine or Vomplete Warrior, I forget which), but I don't think it lets you trade in levels like blackguard does. I imagine it could be adapted easily enough.

Jarmen4u
2017-04-06, 09:12 PM