PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a new system

Naez
2017-04-25, 01:47 PM
I'm looking for a system with clear and concise rules.

The issue I have with most RPGs is the rules are so open ended that as a player I always get frustrated playing 'mother may I' with my DM for rulings. Or conversely having to hand hold my PCs through adventurers because the NEED me to tell them how the rules work at my table because they're so vague.

The only system I've actually played with that had this pretty well done was 4e DnD. But it had other flaws. And the player base for the edition is rather small.

Grod_The_Giant
2017-04-25, 01:56 PM
There are plenty of crunch-heavy systems out there. D&D 3.5 and 4e. Most White Wolf games. GURPS. Savage Worlds. Star Wars Saga Edition.

What were the particular issues with 4e that you objected to?

Grizl' Bjorn
2017-04-25, 02:01 PM
As a writer, I'd say that precise and concise are both desirable goals, but are often enemies to each other.

Honestly I've seen many roleplaying systems and the best balance of precise with concise, open-endedness with clarity I've ever seen is 5E- and 5E is far from perfect.

In my experience what's really needed is a great DM, who weighs up a whole bunch of factors like 'would x intepretation of the rules be OP', 'would y interpretation slow the game down too much', 'if I don't allow z, will my players feel like I'm not letting them do anything'. And then, having considered all of these factors, comes to a decision in a way which is halfway between a tabletop democracy and autocracy. Not to mention that it helps if they have a precise and logical way of parsing and interpreting text and think logically through the probable outcomes of their rulings.