PDA

View Full Version : MFAs in the Playground?

Dacia Brabant
2017-05-19, 08:29 PM
I thought about posting this in the Arts and Crafts forum, but that seems more geared toward projects so I decided I'd ask this here: are there any MFAs in the Playground, specifically in creative writing? I ask because I'm seriously considering going that route, but I'm interested in hearing from people who've gone down that path themselves or are in the process of doing so as to what their experiences are and if it was worth it for them.

I don't give out personal information online, and that includes what I write about (and I do write for a living), so I'd rather not get too much into what I would do with a creative writing MFA. Suffice to say that my concentration would be narrative nonfiction with an eye toward (European) history. Is anyone perchance familiar with any programs that might be a good fit for such an interest?

Winter_Wolf
2017-05-20, 11:26 AM
I do not have an MFA of any kind, but let me ask you a serious question. If you're already writing for a living, and presumably pulling in enough to meet your expenses, why do you actually need to go back to school for a creative writing degree? Especially if you're going to be writing nonfiction.

SaintRidley
2017-05-20, 11:59 AM
Doing an MFA in literary translation here (in addition to my PhD).

Depending on what your goals are, that might change my answer a bit. The MFA is probably most worth it if you want to do either of the following: apply to more residencies (the MFA will look good on those applications) to get yourself more focused writing time + sometimes money or establish yourself with a home in academia so you have a steady income from teaching the craft (and institutional access to library resources) while writing.

Do you have any universities you're considering? I think University of Iowa's nonfiction MFA is fairly well regarded.

Dacia Brabant
2017-05-20, 03:04 PM