PDA

View Full Version : Should I multi class into a fighter as a barbarian?

JobsforFun
2017-05-25, 12:04 AM
I am playing in a campaign and I just recently switched to a half-orc barbarian, we were level 8 and last session we were given level 9. I was wondering should I multi class into a fighter at this level? Will multi classing at this level be bad? I have never multi classed so I am not experienced with it at all and I was wondering what were some of your opinions on it?

Vaz
2017-05-25, 12:23 AM
It depends on what you want. You're actually at a decent break point if there's nothing more you want especially from Barbarian, and even just dipping into Fighter 3 for Champion can really make you brutal when it comes to Barbarianing. Brutal Critical however makes those Critical Hits you get from a Champion Fighter's increased range even more damaging, and even more often. If you've capped out on Strength, I don't see a good reason as to why you shouldn't.

Fighter gives you a Fighting Stance, plus Improved Crit. The Battle Master alternatively can add some more consistent damage and let maybe a Party rogue get an off turn Sneak Attack against what you're fighting.

I played a Barbarian Berserker 14/Champion Fighter 3, and when you're doing so much damage that even when they're attacking you, you can make another attack which has a chance of critical hitting. A combination of that and Shield Master with Unarmoured Defence makes you really resilient. It was only for a one shot though.

djreynolds
2017-05-25, 01:00 AM