PDA

View Full Version : Domain wizard?/druid

Tallis
2007-08-02, 07:48 PM
I'm about to join a new gaming group. They use gestalt characters, so I've been looking at UA in the SRD. I want to build a druid/wizard, so I was looking at the class variants to see what's available and I came across the domain wizard.
Am I missing something? I can't find anything that says what you lose in return for getting an extra spell at each level.
So is there something I missed or is it just a straight power boost?

Also any build suggestions would be welcome as I've never used a gestalt before. I also wanted to use the Sidhe Scholar variant druid from Dragon #339. I have the first 4 complete books, complete mage, and the SRD to work with in addition to PHB, DMG, MM 1-3. I'm allowed to use legacy items, but don't know where to find the rules.
He'll be lvl 6, 32 point buy, grey elf.

We expect to run into a lot of undead and dragons.

Iku Rex
2007-08-02, 07:55 PM
You're not missing anything. UA is not a regular DnD supplement and the variant rules in it aren't always supposed to be balanced with regular DnD. Case in point: gestalt.

Jack_Simth
2007-08-02, 09:42 PM
In general:
A couple of things to be wary of with Gestalt....

1) Pick a primary and supporting class; don't try to fill both roles.
The Paladin//Sorcerer has a problem - needs Strength for fighting, Con for HP, Wis for Paladin spellcasting, and Charisma for Sorcerer spellcasting. Trying to be both a full Paladin and a Full Sorcerer is going to hurt. The Sorcerer//paladin, on the other hand, is a Sorcerer with a better HD, attack bonus, and Divine Grace (plus a mount).

2) Don't take classes with abilities that get in each other's way.