PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Ed Does Pierce Magical Protection work all the time?

ChaosSpiral
2017-06-19, 12:24 PM
So I have been playing DnD for a few years now. Lately in our last campaign, I had taken the feat "Pierce Magical Protection" from Complete Arcane. Here is the feat in its entirety

Your contempt for magic is so fierce that as a standard action you can make a melee attack that ignores any bonuses to Armor Class granted by spells (including spell trigger or spell completion effects created by magic items such as wands or potions). If you deal damage to your opponent, you also instantly and automatically dispel all that opponent's spells and spell effects that grant a bonus to Armor Class.

My Question is Does that "If you deal damage to your opponent" clause of the feat turn off? I get that the ignoring bonuses and such is a standard action and they are supposed to go hand in hand but if you have a High enough BAB to get over their bonuses from a full BAB character, can you get rid of their bonuses for your team (or next hits) and continue with the full attack?

Inevitability
2017-06-19, 12:47 PM
You can't use standard action abilities as part of a full action, if that's what you're asking. Either you use your standard action to make a single attack that gets the effects of the feat, or you use your full-round action to make several attacks that don't benefit from the feat.

ChaosSpiral
2017-06-19, 01:16 PM
Sorry I might not have been specific with my question... I was asking if the second part of the feat worked every time you hit. The way I read the feat was.

1. As a standard action you can make a melee attack that ignores any bonuses to Armor Class granted by spells (including spell trigger or spell completion effects created by magic items such as wands or potions).

2. If you deal damage to your opponent, you also instantly and automatically dispel all that opponent's spells and spell effects that grant a bonus to Armor Class.