PDA

View Full Version : Standard Races you have no desire to play?

ZorroGames
2017-06-27, 12:16 PM
Maybe because I am still new to 5th Edition from years away but there are some races I really never see myself playing.

Duergar Dwarf, Drow Elf, (any) Halfling, Dragonborn, and Tiefling. Reading about those races either disinterests me or seems unappealing. Some cases I understand why, others not so much, I would not prefer to play them. No problem with them being played in the game, just not by me.

Leaving aside the "why" are there any standard races that you never envision youself wanting to play?

nickl_2000
2017-06-27, 12:27 PM
Gnomes all gnomes. I just don't like the tinker mentality and the whole steampunk thing. It doesn't feel like it fits into the world for me. Also it helps that I've always hated playing wizards

Waterdeep Merch
2017-06-27, 12:28 PM
Dragonborn, purely for aesthetic reasons. I think dragon people just look stupid, in every medium, no matter how hard they try to convince me they're actually ferocious and 'cool'.

And the bizarre lineages that go with them to explain how they exist at all are usually really, really dumb.

I give a pass to Dark Souls, and that's the only iteration off the top of my head I don't hate.

Balyano
2017-06-27, 12:40 PM
Standard Human, sooooo boring. I would play a variant human to get that first level feat so it seems a little different, but the standard +1 across the board is way too much bland on a bland
no niche sandwich.

It also means that High Elves are smart, so smart in fact that they are as smart as the average human. Orcs are so tough that they are as tough as the average human. Dragonborn are so charasmatic that they are as compelling and inspiring and intimidating as the average human. Wood Elves? why, they are as wise as a human.