PDA

View Full Version : Building an appropriate dungeon for a level 1 party

Luccan
2017-07-01, 01:32 AM
I'm looking at getting into DMing, but I have limited experience at actually doing it and never really ran a dungeon crawl before nor played through one at first level. I figure starting from level 1 will mean I have less to worry about, save for two things: appropriate encounters and reward. While I'm sure I can find general advice on creating and running a dungeon (both from the DMG and from many threads online), I'm looking for help challenging a level 1 party without being extremely lethal.

mastermisha1
2017-07-01, 01:48 AM
Do you know what the party makeuo is looking like? Depending on party composition and opyimization levels you are going to need different rhings to challenge them.

Biffoniacus_Furiou
2017-07-01, 02:02 AM
For low level, a long-abandoned tomb or similar works well.

Lone weak opponents like a Dire Rat, an unarmed Human Skeleton, a small size Zombie (use Kobold Zombie stats, unarmed), tiny and small Animated Objects, vermin like monstrous centipedes or spiders, an underground area overgrown with tree roots with a Twig Blight (MM2), etc. are all fitting for a place that hasn't seen sentient life in decades.

There can also be environmental hazards that serve the same purpose as traps, like a collapsing floor, a flooded corridor, a collapsed corridor that's not completely closed but could finish collapsing if they're not careful, etc.

OldTrees1
2017-07-01, 02:33 AM
Step 1: Know your players and their characters.

You should know them better than we do and thus should use that knowledge to further tailor our advice so that it fits your group. Things of particular note would be what playstyle they are expecting & what how relaxed/paranoid they will act in a dungeon.

Step 2: Why is the Dungeon?