PDA

View Full Version : Player Help I need help creating a psionic gish

Baby Gary
2017-07-08, 09:02 PM
Hi All,
For an upcoming campaign that I am I was thinking of playing a psionic gish, but I don't know where to start. I have never played anything psionic character before and I have limited experience with playing gishes. I am thinking of trying to go into ithilid slayer for the obvious reasons (BAB, psionic advancement, and immunities). I am think I might be able to convince my DM to let Human Paragon advance psionic stuff so that could I could get the BAB faster to get into ithilid slayer faster.

Build specifics: 5th level, 5th level WBL, 28 point buy, most sources allowed (not too much cheese though), no house rules that I am aware of.

Original idea: Psion 1/ human paragon 3/ Ranger (for BAB and track along with other cool things) 1/ Ithid slayer 10/ ??? 5

I am open to any suggestion about, what I should do, and any thing about my build. I would really love any help what so ever in ideas for this character and...well anything about it. Thank you.

BG

atemu1234
2017-07-08, 09:07 PM
Well, the main problems with Psionic gishes are always going to be the lost of manifester levels because of the need to increase base attack bonus. To phrase it a way I phrased it to one of my players, you're trading away your phenomenal cosmic powers to be able to swing a pointy metal stick. Illithid Slayer is probably the only way to go about this, though dipping mindbender for telepathy is probably also a good idea.

Zakerst
2017-07-08, 09:17 PM
So you could just go with the psionic gish in a can with psychic warrior and call it a day, but that's probably not what you're looking for is it?

Nifft
2017-07-08, 09:26 PM
You can get into the Slayer PrC in a few different ways:

Psion 8 / Slayer ++
- Lose 1 feat to Track.
- You lose 1 Manifester level to Slayer.
- Enter Slayer at character level 9.

Ranger 1 / Psion 6 / Slayer ++