PDA

View Full Version : Gish Halberdier

mgshamster
2017-07-24, 11:30 AM
I'm starting a new character (my previous one died from excess damage), and I'd like to play a halberdier who uses magic to self enhance.

Homebrew and UA may be allowed.

What would you recommend?

I'm uncertain if I want more fighteriness or more magicks, so my range is EK to Hexblade and anywhere in between. What I'd really like is to see what kinds of options there are out there. I've never made a Gish before.

Thanks!

Koren
2017-07-24, 11:41 AM
oh hey I'm an Eldritch Knight Glaive-er, pretty close. I'm really new at this so my advice may mean less than a veteran.

it's a fun build, EK gets just enough magic to be versatile and bulky. Pure EK may not work if you want to focus on multiple self buffs though, as I've noticed a lot of the best self buffs are outside their spell list. they can still get four unrestricted spells from the wizard list, though, and depending on what you want that may be all you need. Personally I like being a Swiss army knife.

miburo
2017-07-24, 12:52 PM
Do you consider a Paladin to be a Gish? Paladins make a great, great choice for a magic-wielding polearm user. They have tons of buffing type spells (Bless, Magic/Elemental Weapon, things like Hunters's Mark and Haste if you go Oath of Vengeance). Also if you take Polearm Master feat then you can use Divine Smite and Improved Divine Smite on that bonus action attack.

EK is viable, although you won't be able to combine Polearm Master with War Magic which kinda sucks. You could instead focus on buffing spells and utility/ranged cantrips (instead of Booming Blade or Greenflame Blade).

Hexblade or Fiend Bladelocks are also a good choice. Thirsting Blade and Hex damage both go really well with Polearm Master. I would go Ftr 1 first for Con save + Heavy Armor.

GlenSmash!
2017-07-24, 04:32 PM
I've thought about making a Blade Pact Warlock with the PM feat before. The Hexblade patron seems the right place to start.