PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Feedback level 4 Ranger (2) scout (2) character.

alucardu
2017-08-06, 04:28 PM
I started playing d&d about 5 months ago and the DM told us we were only using PHB I II for our characters to keep it easy. But I got the game quite fast and wanted more! Just a ranger looked a bit boring, but multiclassing into a rogue looked interesting. After some questions and topics I've ended up with a Ranger/Scout build that I want to use when I get to level 4 (so I am retconning the character).

Race: Wood Elf (+2 str, +2 dex, -2 Int - Con)
STR 12
DEX 20
CON 13
INT 14
WIS 11
CHA 15

I got some good rolls :). I've chosen a high INT for the insane amount of skill points I want/need for my character. Also a 15 in CHA because I want high diplomacy/bluff/gather information. I've talked to my DM and I want my scout to be a bit of a detective so we made those skills available for me. Now you can also see why I need a high int with all these skills I want to level. We also picked some flaws for our characters, first flaw gave 4 skill points and second flaw a feat. I've chosen Point Blank Shot and Precise Shot as my first 2 feats. Also I did scout 1, and scout 2 for the first levels.

On level 3 I went Ranger with the Arcane Hunter variant class. My DM likes to use magic in his NPCS. On level 3 I picked the Travel Devotion feat, although at this level it's not useful yet since I can only attack once. But we go straight into level 4 (ranger 2 with Archery speciality) which gives me Rapid Shot. Now with travel devotion I can move +10ft and use rapid shot and each shot gets 1D6 added for damage. So far this will be the character I'm playing next session. Any feedback on it?