PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Wildcat Archetype Monk Optimization - Pocket Sand for Days

Sparkwell
2017-08-14, 08:15 PM
So, I was browsing through published archetypes the other day, when I came upon the Wildcat archetype for the core monk. Now, I've wanted to play a dirty brawler for a while, however I've been leery of builds that focus too heavily on grapple-optimizing (if I want to play a dirty-trick fighting, disease-scarred, and malnourished street urchin, I want more pocket sand and groin punches and less chokeholds). Furthermore, I was amazed that the archetype basically dropped everything from the core monk that made the monk... monk. No ki-pool (which means relying on magic items to make unarmed strikes pierce magic DR), no slow fall, no abundant step, etc, etc, etc.

Now, I'm fairly new to pathfinder, and the sheer amount of monk style feats blew me away. Furthermore, the archetype basically screams for Improved DT, Quick DT, and Greater DT, which is three feats gone. Finally, I'm not sure what to think about the improvised weapon section - while taking catch off-guard/improvised weapon mastery could make improvised weapon damage comparable to unarmed damage for the wildcat monk, is there any point to actually doing so? What could they gain from an improvised weapon? Why not just use the mug of beer to splash in an opponents eyes for the dirty trick and then pummel them with fists instead?

Any thoughts from anyone about the right arrangement of feats for a wildcat monk that doesn't stray too far from the character idea of a dirty/ragged street urchin brawler?

Cheers!

Geddy2112
2017-08-15, 12:16 AM
I would shy away from improvised weapons, considering you always have your fists/feet, which do more damage. Unless for some reason the improvised weapon was made of some magical mcguffin material needed to kill the BBEG or something along those lines. Or it is a monster like a gelatinous cube you don't want to touch.