PDA

View Full Version : So wait... Feats OR attribute increase?

samcifer
2017-08-16, 10:30 AM
Why was this change made (unless it was in 3.5 and earlier as I have no experience playing anything but 4e)? Why chose between the two? I don't understand why they did this.

Millstone85
2017-08-16, 10:35 AM
Well, for one thing, feats weren't optional in 4e, but they are now.

DanyBallon
2017-08-16, 10:37 AM
Why was this change made (unless it was in 3.5 and earlier as I have no experience playing anything but 4e)? Why chose between the two? I don't understand why they did this.

First and foremost, Feats are optionals to the core system, and as far as I'm concern, it add an element of diversity to the game as player that level up their character, needs to decide if they want to invest in a feat that will give them new abilities, or in a stat increase that will allow them to be better overall with abilities related to that stat. Also, it should be noted that you don't need feats or maxed out stats to be effective in 5e, so choosing either is fine. Lastly not all feats are equals, if you like to optimize, you'll realize real fast that there are better feats than other for combat.

jas61292
2017-08-16, 10:39 AM
First off, feats are optional, so its a way to fit them in without them as greatly effecting game balance (a trade rather than a bonus). Secondly, stats are bounded, and as such not boosting a stat is not as harmful.

Millstone85
2017-08-16, 10:40 AM
Do note that some feats increase an ability score by 1.

So it is like they are half the price of other feats.

Easy_Lee
2017-08-16, 11:20 AM
As far as I know, they never said why they did this. Saying "feats are optional" is not a reason, it's a consequence of the design.

I'm not a fan of it since it punishes players for taking interesting options by giving them lower stats. In 3.5e, we had feat taxes. Now, we have attribute increase taxes because almost no feat is worth losing progression on your main stat.