PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Ed DM vs Players

Ethernil
2017-09-11, 10:04 AM
There is one thing that keeps bothering me. Both in these forums, and in live games i have played, many DMs feel like they are playing vs the players, as in a competitive game. They feel good when they kill the players or make them feel miserable. I don't see the point in that. Why is it so? I mean in one of my first games i was called a metagamer for picking power attack, combat expertise and weapon supremacy in my 20 lvl fighter. The dm had to run each feat through testing and almost banned many of them. When the fighter does more than 2d6+4 it breaks the game right? I am not talking optimization, as you have guessed the group was a bunch of total noobs, blaster wizard, healbot cleric, bow rogue and fighter alternating between twohand weapon and sword and board depending on the fight. Also, we had millions of gold, there were no magic markets to get items... ok so far... and i was not allowed to buy or raise/tame a crow as a pet. Not a familiar or a scout or whatever, i just wanted a pet crow to feed and roleplay with but it would ruin the game... Wait, now i remember, we were using that gold to pay for resurection costs cause we needed that magic pretty often.

I do understand there are players that want to bend the rules in half and exploit stuff/trick the DM, this is not the kind of tables i am talking of.

Venger
2017-09-11, 10:07 AM