PDA

View Full Version : War 2/ Sorc 18 final spell list... Any good?

samcifer
2017-09-17, 01:16 PM
So assuming I go sorc 1/warlock2/sorc 18, here's what I'm thinking of for a final spell list for my character. Since I'm still new to anything other than 4e, let me know if there are a few spells I shoould go for. Note that the character refuses to use spells that affect the mind such as charm, command, etc. as he hates those kinds of spells. Also, he's going to use Hex as often as possible, so I'm keeping the number of spells that require concentration to a minimum. As I'm playing a Favored Soul sorc, I have access to cleric spells. For Warlock, I took the Hexblade Pact for extra defense in armor and shield proficiency and can melee attack using charisma.

He's focused mainly on fire (a bit of a pyromaniac), and will take Elemental Adept - Fire, as well as Spell Sniper for feats as he levels up. For metamagic, my strategy is to take in order per each metamagic gain: Twin and Distant, Subtle and Quickened, Empowered and Heightened.

Cantrips:

Racial:

Thaumaturgy

Sorc:

Acid Splash
Fire Bolt
Poison Spray
Shocking Grasp

Cleric:

Guidance
Sacred Flame

Warlock:

Eldritch Blast
Green Flame Blade

L1:

Cure Wounds (set spell by being a Favored Soul)

R:

Hellish Rebuke (once per long rest)

S:

Chromatic Sphere (for variable dmg.)
Magic Missile (for the auto damage)

C:

Guiding Bolt (for giving disadvantage to target)

W:

Arms of Hadar (no other good choices among lv. 1 warlock spells besides the other 2 I took)
Hex (extra damage and disadvantage on a chosen stat)
Shield (via Hexblade)

L2:

(none kept during leveling up)

L3:

R:

Darkness (once per long rest)

S:

Counterspell
Fireball

L4:

Dimension Door
Watery Sphere (mass restraining and I love the imagery of it)

L5:

S:

Immolation (good damage and continual damage, plus the character loves fire)
Flame Strike (AoE fire and Radiant damage)

L6:

S:

Disentegrate (really good if twinned)

C: