PDA

View Full Version : New to being a DM

Novir Vetru
2017-09-18, 06:22 PM
Hey everyone, I would like to start running a 3.5 campaign with my friends, but I have never done so before. I was wondering if anyone could possibly help me come up with a campaign to play through, or if i could get some advice on doing so. Any help would be appreciated.

RoboEmperor
2017-09-18, 06:26 PM
Hey everyone, I would like to start running a 3.5 campaign with my friends, but I have never done so before. I was wondering if anyone could possibly help me come up with a campaign to play through, or if i could get some advice on doing so. Any help would be appreciated.

Get a pre-written official 1st party adventure or adventure path and just do exactly as it says.

Anxe
2017-09-18, 06:41 PM
Yeah. I doubt any of us here will want to commit to helping you that much. If you have some ideas we can help flesh them out? An adventure path or just a series of unlinked modules is a great way to learn how to DM. It's the way I and many others on the forum learned.

If you do want to come up with your own stuff with our help, we'll need more from you. What kind of campaign do you want to run for your group? Hack and Slash? Mystery? Political drama? Save the world from evil?

I'd also suggest not doing a full-on campaign at first. A series of unconnected adventures can be just as fun and is less stressful as a DM in my opinion.

Novir Vetru
2017-09-18, 06:59 PM
Alright, I'll check out the individual pre-generated adventures. I was originally planning to try to come up with my own campaign, but you guys seem to know what you are talking about so I will trust your judgement. I appreciate the assistance.

RoboEmperor
2017-09-18, 07:59 PM
Alright, I'll check out the individual pre-generated adventures. I was originally planning to try to come up with my own campaign, but you guys seem to know what you are talking about so I will trust your judgement. I appreciate the assistance.