PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Build Optimization/Advice - Monk/Stalker

draco2489
2017-09-21, 02:30 PM
So I'm still pretty new to this, and wanted to run some ideas out for public review.

My build is going to be
Unchained Monk 4/Stalker 16
Race : Tengu

Party Role : Striker
Combining the Monks High base Unarmed Strike damage with the Stalkers abilities/maneuvers that grant stackable bonus damage.
Add on top of this, the Unchained Monk gets Ki Flurry at level 3 to buy extra attacks, or a potential TWF build.

Attributes Lvl 1:
Str 10
Dex 16
Con 12
Int 13
Wis 17
Cha 10

Since both Stalker features/abilities/maneuvers and Unchained Monk features key off of Wisdom, I was planning on putting every attribute point there as I get them.
Both classes have access to Ki Pool class feature, with Ki Points equal to 1/2 Level + WIS, netting a base total of 16 Ki points at Lvl 20 (after my Wisdom is 22).

1st : Would it make more sense to try and build TWF as a parallel to the Ki Flurry feature, to preserve some Ki points for myself,
instead of having only Ki Flurry as my means of extra attacks?

As it stands I don't know that my Ki will really get any higher than 25 per day at max, and for most of the Mid-High Levels I'm anticipating only 10-15 Ki points per day, and I would rather not be stuck in a position where I burn through my pool in the first 2-3 encounters of a day just defeating enemies.
Investing in the full TWF feat tree would also require additional DEX investment, at the cost of WIS.

2nd : At Lvl 4, Unchained Monk gets one Ki Power; Possible good options include:
Qinggong Monk Power : Deny Death (Passive, Ki points >0) - I'm on the front lines and not necessarily High AC
Qinggong Monk Power : True Strike (1 Ki point) - Who doesn't like to hit things?
Qinggong Monk Power : Barkskin (1 Ki point) - AC boost seems nice
Monk Power : Ki Metabolism (Passive) - Reduce Ki pool recovery from 8 Hrs to 2 Hrs

Maybe there are others I'm overlooking?