PDA

View Full Version : Wizard - Bard class selection debate

saberrider
2017-10-10, 06:32 AM
Hello there, I have been playing d&d for almost 20 years, mostly 3.0 and 3.5, a little AD&D, pathfinder and 4e. Now I am about to give 5e a go and I feel overwhelmed by the possibilities of the reworked classes. I have played almost everything at least once with wizard being my all time favorite and most familiar class and here's the thing: In the party I'm about to join there's already a Barbarian, a Ranger and a Psionic (or Mystic as they call him these days) and the general opinion is that they really need a spellcaster, preferably a Wizard to cover for the lack of controlling capabilities of this party, plus the much needed utility. At the same time after talking to the DM, I found out that a social/face guy is also needed (plus I really want to be that guy), so the way I see it that leaves me with options.
I can either roll a Bard, the obvious choice, since he fits that role perfectly (jack of all trades indeed) with his expertise as a nice bonus, or build a high Cha Wizard (portent makes diviner a no-brainer) with social skills. The tricky part is that a Bard's spell arsenal, concerning spells known, is limited as you all know compared to a Wizard's, so I won't have the option to choose according to each situation.
So TLDR, what are your opinions on this matter, is a Bard viable as the prime spellcaster? Would a Wizard be an acceptable face?

nickl_2000
2017-10-10, 06:38 AM
The Bard is an amazing spellcaster, their spell choice lend well to healing, buffs, and battlefield control naturally. The very nice thing about Bards as a spellcaster through (especially Lore Bard) is the Magic Secrets ability. At various level you get to literally steal spells from another class and cast it with Charisma. Need blasting ability? Grab Fireball.

Ninja_Prawn
2017-10-10, 07:15 AM