PDA

View Full Version : Hidden Talent question for non-psionic classes

Crichton
2017-10-17, 04:52 PM
So the feat Hidden Talent gives a PC 2 power points per day, and the one 1st level psionic power from any class. But I'm a bit unsure of how to interpret the instructions for calculating the DC and Manifester Level for using this feat as a non-psionic class.

From Expanded Psionics Handbook p.67:

If you have no psionic class levels, use Charisma to determine how powerful a power you can manifest and how hard those powers are to resist.

I'm new to psionic characters. How exactly do I determine those things? Is it just my Cha modifier is my max Manifester Level? How do I calculate DC for saves against my one power?

Thanks in advance!

Malimar
2017-10-17, 04:59 PM
Works just like spellcasting and SLAs.

The maximum power level you can manifest is your Charisma minus 10 -- so you need at least 11 Charisma to use the 1st level power (which it actually says in the feat).

The save DC is 10 + the power level + your Charisma bonus. So for a 1st level power, it would be 11 + Charisma bonus.

Your Manifester Level for this power is 1.

timeeater14
2017-10-17, 05:03 PM
You use Charisma to determine the DC, just like a spell(10+power level+Cha modifier). The "how powerful" bit is also the same as a spell: you need 11 Cha to manifest a level 1 power, 12 for level 2, 13 for 3, you get the idea. And the two best picks for Hidden Talent powers, IMO, are Psionic Minor Creation(Shaper 1, make huge amounts of Black Louts Extract) or Astral Construct, which can remain useful as a trap-springer into the late game(and if you're a Kalashtar, go nuts.)

timeeater14
2017-10-17, 05:04 PM
Dang, ninja'ed. (Lurk'ed?)

Crichton
2017-10-17, 05:34 PM