PDA

View Full Version : 5e returns the fear of dying?

Arc_knight25
2017-10-25, 07:56 AM
I am relatively new to 5e. We have had our third session. The first to sessions where more, find quest hubs, find info and see how our characters interact with one another.

Our last session, travel finally began, and the encounters started. We are doing Tomb of Annihilation.

So our first encounter was a t-rex munching on some zombies. We are level 2 so we just avoided the encounter. The t-rex was in no danger of dying and becoming a undead t-rex.

Our second encounter was a yellow creeper with about 7-8 zombies with it. Most of our party was able to avoid the creeper itself and stay out of zombie reach. We downed the creeper with ranged attacks and those charmed disengaged once the creeper was down. we left about 5 zombies "alive" and went on our way licking our woounds.

The last encounter we had for the session was 2 girrlions. I had entangled them as they noticed us as we attempted to sneak by(we were caught). As luck would have it they failed their saves on the first round and we ran like the dickens for we figured we were unable to deal with the treats.

All this to say. I am enjoying 5e for it puts the fear of dying back into the game.

What are peoples thoughts on this?

KorvinStarmast
2017-10-25, 08:17 AM
All this to say. I am enjoying 5e for it puts the fear of dying back into the game.

What are peoples thoughts on this? This is a good thing. :smallbiggrin:

Chronos
2017-10-25, 08:23 AM
The fear of dying is a good thing, but I'm not sure that 5e has actually returned it. It takes a truly massive amount of damage to kill a character outright, and anything short of an outright kill, the cleric can just get you back on your feet the next round with a bonus action Healing Word. My group is up to level 13 now, having started from scratch at 1, and the only times we've ever needed to use even a Revivify have been on NPCs who don't benefit from the whole death saves thing.