PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Engineering the Fall of House Thrune (Spoiler Warning for three APs)

Madokar
2017-11-02, 09:01 PM
So I'm a newbie GM. GMed the Dragon's Demand Module, and currently reading up on my new Hell's Rebels and Hell's Vengeance PDFs. Here's the thing. I like playing good characters. Paladins are my new favourite class. So I personally would have loved to have played on the side of the Glorious Reclamation in Hell's Vengeance.

Wondering leads to creation, and by pondering on what would happen if I had joined the Glorious Reclamation, I begin to imagine how a campaign based on reclaiming Cheliax from House Thrune and the Church of Asmodeus would play out. So I started working on my first home campaign.

The basic idea for this campaign is that a few other APs have been successfully completed. Namely, Wrath of the Righteous, Skulls and Shackles, and Hell's Rebels. The logic of those particular APs having succeeded is because of three reasons:

1) With Wrath of Righteous completed, the Worldwound has been closed. This frees up a huge amount of resources for the Church of Iomedae, allowing them to pursue other missions.

2) Skulls and Shackles happened because the group I play with now completed that AP before I joined them. So at some point in my campaign, they will receive subtle aid from the current Hurricane King, who will be a PC from their take on the AP.

3) Hell's Rebels happened so that the average members of the Chelaxian population in my campaign will have hope that they can escape the rule of Thrune. It will also be a beacon for enemy faiths of both Thrune and the Asmodeans that victory is possible.

As a campaign. this narrative is not just a mere reversal of Hell's Vengeance. While the PCs will have opportunities to avert some of the tragedy that befalls many good aligned characters in Hell's Vengeance, I will also be including original content to help fill in the gaps.