PDA

View Full Version : Fighter Build help

Sargentpsychooo
2017-11-05, 02:21 AM
Hi so I am relatively new to 5e and would like some help. I am about to start in a campaign and want to make a fighter, can some one help me come up with a build?
Stats have not been rolled and I am playing a Homebrew race that gives me +2 to any stat

Edit: I want to play a mundane fighter that does not use magic, but am open minded if you guys think it's for the best. The only thing I am set on is that I want to duel wield. (2 longswords or 1 longswords and 1 short)

JellyPooga
2017-11-05, 04:54 AM
What sort of Fighter do you want to play? There's a lot of options and play-styles open to you; great-weapon, sword&board, archery, str-focused, dex-focused, not to mention three different archetypes to choose from; do you want to play with magic or go completely mundane? What level of complexity do you want? Battlemaster involves a degree of resource management, whereas Champion does not.

Given that you're new to 5ed, a Champion Fighter wielding a Greatsword or Maul is "easy"; go high Str and Con, wear the heaviest armour available to you and grab Great Weapon Master (feat) at the earliest opportunity, paired with the Great Weapon Fighting Style. You can swing away all day and do competetive damage all the way up to 20th level.

An archer Fighter, taking the Archery Fighting Style and Sharpshooter, focused on Dex, is also pretty fun. You can go Battlemaster and pull off "trick-shots", using your maneuvers.

There's literally too many builds to mention, so I'll leave the question with you; what kind of Fighter do you want?

Sargentpsychooo
2017-11-05, 10:40 AM