PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Ranger Progression

Jexis
2017-11-08, 02:31 AM
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to to RPGS, having played a 1 shot at lvl 7, campaign lvl 4-5 in Pathfinder (ended b/c player conflict following in-game relationship and IRL breakup) and levels 1-6 in 5e (this game). So far, I'm playing Revised Ranger in a party with a fighter, sorcerer, and another sorcerer (who hasn't been around for about 4/5ths of the sessions so don't consider that). Here is my build so far.
STR: 12
DEX: 18
CON: 14
INT: 12
WIS: 18
CHA: 12
I have the Stealthy feat and chose Hunter's Conclave w/ Colossus Slayer. I primarily cast Cure Wounds, Hunter's Mark, and Pass Without Trace. I use the Archery fighting style w/ longbow but also dual-wield shortswords in close combat. I'm considering going Fighter, Rogue, or Cleric (in respective order of interest). I also don't know if the 7-8th lvl Ranger abilities are worth it (or anything afer 6). My favored enemies are Humanoid and Giant.
(RP Note: the fighter is a criminal and I've been his moral opposite for a decent amount of the campaign, drawing me away from rogue).
Also taking suggestions for if I should take ASI's or feats. Campaign expected to end around level 13.

DevilMcam
2017-11-08, 08:26 AM
Hi Jexis,
one of the important things when considering multiclassing, is asking yourself what you would like to gain through this.

Rogue would up your DPR with sneak attack, cunning action to enhance mobility and better skill coverage. Note that rogues aren't necessarily criminals, just highly skilled mundane characters.
Fighter would improve you combat efficiency in various ways (mostly dependant on your subclass, but Sharpshooter precision strike Battlemaster is probably the most efficient way to do so) but the Fighter 5 level would be a very uninteresting one.
Cleric would help you with utility and seconding your Sorcerer with spellcasting.

Mortis_Elrod
2017-11-08, 08:47 AM
Not that it matters much but what race are you ?