PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Party Without a Melee Focused Character Question

Aemon
2017-11-09, 10:52 AM
Hello. I am new to posting on these forums but have been lurking around them for many years. For the first time in a long long time, I have the chance to play D&D again. I used to DM for my group when I was younger, but haven't had anyone to play with for the past 15 years or so. I have some DM experience, but I am obviously very, very rusty.

A few of my friends got interested in D&D from watching Stranger Things, and asked me to run a few games for them. I am pretty happy with the adventure idea I have for them, but I am concerned about how to best handle their choice of character classes. I am totally fine with them playing whatever they would enjoy, but I was going to ask how I could best DM with their class choices.

The main worry I have is that they don't really have a dedicated melee character. We will have an elf wizard, an elf ranger (bow focused), and a druid of a yet to be determined race. I felt a bit better when the player chose a druid, as I figure wild shape can help out with the melee role, but in a lot of guides I've read they equate the druid to a nature wizard, so I wasn't sure.

I really want them to enjoy the game and, hopefully, want to play much more. Do you have any good advice on how to tailor encounters in 5E to fit this type of party or make the adventure more fun and meaningful to their class choices? Any advice is welcome.

Many thanks and I am glad to finally be posting in this forum!

mephnick
2017-11-09, 10:55 AM
If the Druid goes Moon then it won't be a big problem, they make decent front line characters while Wildshaped. If they live long enough to get Conjure spells then that will help the front line as well.

But my advice is not to tailor encounters to the party. Throw some melee brutes at them and let them figure it out. That's their job, not yours.

Cespenar
2017-11-09, 11:02 AM
Some thoughts: