PDA

View Full Version : Thank you all for a very interesting set of role-playing discussions

Jay R
2017-12-06, 03:51 PM
I've been in role-playing discussions for over seven years, and I just wanted to say "Thank you." The manners, courtesy, and willingness to listen on giantitp is far above what I've seen on most internet discussions of roleplaying.

We've had disagreements where we eventually found out we had misunderstood each other, disagreements where we finally tracked our differences back to the fundamental assumptions or matters of taste, disagreements where we learned that other points of view have value, disagreements where we learned the one crucial fact that changed our views, ...

... and yes, some that went nowhere. Some where we just got angry.

But the overall quality of the discussions has been great.

I started playing 3.5e after reading some discussions here, after many years of other boards convinced me I wanted nothing to do with it. I've found people really worth listening to, and people who wanted to listen to me.

Thank you all for a wonderful set of uplifting, annoying, delightful, frustrating, informative, serious, and silly discussions.

Quertus
2017-12-06, 07:52 PM
I applaud you for creating this thread. While I share most of your sentiment, and greatly appreciate the Playground and Playgrounders, I doubt I'd have ever made such a thread.

Three cheers for the Playground!

Jama7301
2017-12-06, 07:55 PM
I mostly lurk, but I do appreciate the conversations you guys have a lot. It's helpful for seeing all sorts of different things and finding new ideas that you can work into your own. I will echo these sentiments.

In some threads though, y'all are intimidating as heck, haha.

JNAProductions
2017-12-06, 07:58 PM
May you game well, Mr. Jay R, for now and forever.

This thread is much appreciated. :)

Cluedrew
2017-12-06, 08:20 PM
{Having minor panic attack over the possibility of a good poster of the form leaving.}