PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Ed Request for Feedback on Balancing High-Level Encounters

prufock
2017-12-08, 10:06 AM
First of all, if Lord Leon Maxwell, Lady Maleera Whiterose, Ambassador Gnaam, Oliver Swift, or Ragar Whitebranch are reading this, please stop now. Return to the previous screen, do not pass go, do not collect $200. That out of the way...

My long-running campaign is in the last arc, gearing up toward the final showdown between several different factions. We have an infernal army marching on the kingdom, an anti-theist priest and his followers desecrating all temples regardless of alignment, a demi-god wizard who just wants to find his wife's spirit, and a few other minor happenings. The PCs are currently level 17. By the end of the campaign, I expect the PCs to be level 21 (NOTE: NO EPIC SPELLCASTING). I have little experience playing at this level; I want to challenge the PCs with difficult fights, but not overwhelm them. I have several ideas, but I'm unsure if they are too over the top, and would appreciate some feedback on how to balance these things. I tend to really push the PCs' limits.

Apologies in advance if this ends up being a little long; I'll put separate parts behind spoiler tags.

While they have pretty well-build characters, they aren't really on what I would call an "optimized" playing field. They're built pretty well, but we don't have a lot of daily buffing, metamagic abuse, etc. Still, they tend to steamroll encounters of ECL equal to party level, even up to 1 or 2 ECL above party level.