PDA

View Full Version : DM Help How to start a mind Flayer campaign?

Potato_Priest
2017-12-18, 12:41 PM
So I've been thinking about starting a mind flayer campaign. (A campaign where the players are all mind flayers recently released from service to their elder brain)

I've got a pretty good idea of how I'm going to brew the mind flayer race, and I have some ideas for custom backgrounds based on what peoples jobs were within the colony, but I've been having some trouble thinking about what level to start the campaign at.

I would explain mind flayers' adventuring careers by having them capture an adventuring party, eat their brains, and absorb their memories, thereby each acquiring the powers of their chosen class. This leaves me with several options open. I could have the PCs start at level 5 to be approximately the same power level of the mind flayers in the book, or I could start them at level 1 or 3 to represent them slowly learning the ropes and piecing together the memories of the adventurers they ate.

So, which do you guys think would make the most in-world sense (too-weak mind flayers vs. very rapid skill acquisition), and which would make for the best game?

Unoriginal
2017-12-18, 12:45 PM
So I've been thinking about starting a mind flayer campaign. (A campaign where the players are all mind flayers recently released from service to their elder brain)

I've got a pretty good idea of how I'm going to brew the mind flayer race, and I have some ideas for custom backgrounds based on what peoples jobs were within the colony, but I've been having some trouble thinking about what level to start the campaign at.