PDA

View Full Version : Adventurers' League online

quark12000
2018-01-01, 12:24 AM
Does anyone know how to join this? I've Googled it, but either I'm missing something or there is nowhere to play. I have no experience with online roleplay, but I'd like to play some 5E and there's really nowhere near where I live to play it. Thanks.

Strangways
2018-01-01, 12:42 AM
Does anyone know how to join this? I've Googled it, but either I'm missing something or there is nowhere to play. I have no experience with online roleplay, but I'd like to play some 5E and there's really nowhere near where I live to play it. Thanks.

Adventurers League is basically just a set of rules overlaid on top of the D&D 5th edition rules, designed to make characters portable, so you can play the same character in different games with different DMs. So the rules cover such things as logging the XP you earn during a game and that sort of thing. If you don’t care about that, you’re free to play D&D without regard to the AL rules, and many people do. There are many online D&D games on Roll20 and Fantasy Grounds which are not AL games.

If you’re basically just interested in playing D&D online because there’s nowhere to play face to face near where you live, then I’d just check the listings at Roll20 and Fantasy Grounds. There’s also a subreddit for people looking for online D&D games, though I don’t recall the name of it.

If you actually want AL-compliant D&D games, check out this link:

http://dnd.wizards.com/playevents/organized-play

If you plan on attending a D&D gaming convention someday (and you should, because they’re 3 or 4 days of solid, morning till night, face to face D&D gaming and a lot of fun) then you’ll want a D&D compliant character (or multiple characters) ready for when you go.

quark12000
2018-01-01, 01:02 AM