PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next 5e Path of the Soul Warrior Barbarian. A meditative berserker

Legokeiki
2018-01-24, 03:51 AM
So... I had this idea for a very different kind of barbarian. I think I rather like it.
This is supposed to be a subclass with potent abilities, but also a dangerous drawback. I have no little experience with barbarians, and this is only my 2nd homebrew, so I’m looking for lots of feedback. :smallsmile:
I really am unsure about the balance of power versus drawback in this subclass, so that’s probably one of the main things I want critique on, but anything is deeply appreciated.

Path of the Soul Warrior

While most barbarians focus on mindless physical destruction and rage, barbarians that choose to follow the Path of the Soul Warrior harness both the power of body and soul.

Soul Points

When you choose this path at 3rd level, you gain the ability to harness your soul to power your abilities. Your soul point maximum is 3 soul points. Additionally, whenever you gain a level in this class, your soul point maximum increases by 1. You can never have more soul points than your soul point maximum. When you finish a long rest, you regain all expended soul points. When you finish a short rest, you regain 1 expended soul point. This increases to 2 soul points at 5th level, 3 soul points at 10th level, 5 soul points at 15th level, and 6 soul points at 18th level.

Depleted Spirit

Using your soul is extremely taxing, and can cause your body to weaken. At the end a turn where you spent soul points, make a constitution saving throw. The DC is equal to 5 times the number of soul points you spent on that turn, at a maximum of 20. If you fail the throw, you take 1d10 necrotic damage for each soul point you spent on that turn.

Soul Power

When you choose this path at 3rd level, you are able to harness the power of your soul to do extraordinary things. You gain the following features:

Soul Step