PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.x Other Metamagic Simplification

SpaceCommander
2018-01-26, 01:20 PM
Ok, I'm not too good at writing, so I'll get right to the point. In this variant rule, each metamagic feat essentially combines the standard effect with that of a sudden metamagic feat, as well as an equivalent metapsionic, metashadow, and metaname(?) feat. Once per day, you may use the sudden metamagic version. Any other time, it has the standard cost with some differences. A metamagic feat can be used on any spell, power, mystery, or truename it would otherwise apply to, with some differences. If applied to a or power, it has the listed effect. If applied to a mystery, you must spend a total number of mystery levels equal to the level of the upgraded mystery (i.e. to cast an Enlarged Blackfire, you might spend a use of carpet of shadow in addition to the use of the blackfire slot). Finally, if applied to a truename, you increase the DC equal to 5x the level of the metamagic effect (i.e. Twin Spell would increase the DC by 20, while Silent Spell would increase the DC by 5).

So what do you think?

rferries
2018-01-26, 07:53 PM
Not familiar with mysteries and truenaming, but this is a big buff for spells and powers obviously, one that spellcasters really didn't need. Encounters are often cut short by a single spell, but now that spell is going to be a quickened empowered maximised fireball starting at 5th level.

That said, I secretly love this concept. I dislike the idea of metamagic adjustment, I always felt that once you invest in the feat you should be able to apply it freely (though obviously given the effects they have that would be beyond broken), or only the "sudden" versions should be used.

Goaty14
2018-01-26, 11:23 PM