PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Red Mage Base Class (PEACH, first attempt at making a full base class!)

Protato
2018-03-16, 10:11 PM
https://docs.google.com/document/d/161boSHZThT5Cg-iNAFxePIFlcUCr97IURP1AwTp6NtE/edit?usp=sharing

This is my first attempt at making a homebrew base class. As such, I'd like any feedback on if any parts of the class are overpowered or underpowered. I'm mostly worried two things: Having dead levels as I intend for them to get something each level like a Monk does in addition to spells but that might be too much so I've left some levels with no features, and the Rune Knight being too weak versus Mystic Knight, which I intend to be something of a more consistent but less powerful smiter. The amount of spells known is high, yes, but unlike a Paladin's, they aren't preparation casters, and they still only can get up to level five spells. Speaking of spells, they might need a bigger list at later levels. Finally, I'm aware that the document is a bit unprofessional and text isn't quite in line with 5e's in places, and I hope to address that later if it makes it hard to follow. In any event, I look forward to criticism on this.

Composer99
2018-03-17, 06:18 PM
Is that a table of spells known at the right-hand side of the class table? I'm guessing their spell slots are standard for paladin/ranger progression?

Protato
2018-03-20, 10:01 AM
I've added a few more spells to the spell list. I don't know how well some fit the Red Mage but I thought it'd be good for there to be competition for spells known at later levels.

thegreatone5224
2018-03-20, 04:13 PM
Hello, may I first suggest putting that information in a document similar to this (http://homebrewery.naturalcrit.com/share/BJbzBplGib)? Homebrewery is a super easy to use tool that will help you make more professional looking homebrews.