PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Mixing The Great Old One Patron and Sanity Score

Viishnahn
2018-04-02, 11:04 AM
I'm starting a D&D fifth edition campaign soon set in a homebrew world setting (the only relevance this has is that the usual pantheon of deities/patrons is not available), and I've got a player that's starting as a Great Old One Warlock. As the setting is homebrew, I've allowed the player to come up with what kind of patron they serve (attitudes, terms of the pact, nature, etc.), and what they've come up with so far is a being named Yeth'Shuul that sounds fairly close to Cthulhu (I'm no Lovecraft expert, so I might be a little off on a few of my assumptions). The being resides on the plane where all the otherworldly beings live in my homebrew setting, manifests as a hideous mass of eyes and tentacles, and trades knowledge (i.e. warlock level progression) in exchange for the soul power of magical creatures the warlock slays and offers up to Yeth'Shuul. The patron knew of its followers and tested them before revealing greater secrets to them, but was indifferent to most of what they did otherwise.