PDA

View Full Version : Help making a Yuan Ti sorcerer

Pagrek
2018-04-03, 10:07 PM
Hey all,
I'm rolling up a character for adventurer's league and decided a Yuan Ti sorcerer would be a neat character. Now, I haven't found roleplay to be too important in AL, but I'd still like to have some cohesive idea of where my character comes from and some idea of his motivations. Now, I'm pretty new to tabletop in general and my only knowledge of the forgotten realms comes from a couple Drizz't books and the original Neverwinter Nights video game. I read the blurb under their Volo's entry and the basic premise is my character was a typical emotionless pureblood until his dragonic lineage started acting up. Now he is prone to flashes of strong emotion, particularly when using magic, and he's terrified of appearing abnormal so he volunteers for a role as an emissary/spy to the outside world.

What basic knowledge do I need to play this character? I'm OK being lawful evil, but how does Yuan Ti culture treat sorcerers in general? I thought Yuan Ti were exclusively female like Lamias, but I apparently was wrong. Are they a matriarchy? What basic life would a pureblood lead in their society? Are outside races pawns to be used in Yuan Ti plans? Food? What gods would I worship? How will the outside world react to a Yuan Ti in general? Should I pretend the snake features are part of my sorcerer lineage? Drow adventurers are surprisingly well accepted, they even have an entry in the Player's Handbook, are other evil races afforded such grudging trust or would I be attacked on sight without some form of protection?

I'm not really interested in stat build advice, but any lore or fluff you'd be willing to give would be a godsend.

Snowbluff
2018-04-04, 07:57 AM
Probably another good of Yuan Ti lore is the old Serpent Kingdoms book from 3e. Let me take a look.

I will say that their are Yuan Ti splinter factions in Faerun.