PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Very Basic Monster Help

heregoeshell
2018-04-07, 07:43 AM
I'm getting ready to actually plan out a dungeon, having only experience with building cities, inhabiting them, and running kick in the door random generation style sessions for one or two levels. As such, I have very little experience with planning out dungeons for multiple visits (under a city and necessary for the progression of plot), and with how much detail to plan especially when it comes to monsters, considering that most of my encounters have been either random, or built NPC vs PC. As such I have a few questions:

1: Considering I plan for the dungeon to be a major locale throughout the campaign, is it necessary for me to pre fill each room with monsters? (this is my assumed best option, but one I am the least wanting to undertake)
2: Will a random generator work for creating worthwhile encounters for my players, many of whom are experienced players and DMs themselves?
3: Is there a middle ground between purely random and purely pre-planned?
4: Considering the vast amount of monsters, are there any monsters which are simply better than others for different reasons? (challenge, unique problems, interesting mechanics, worthwhile resistances, etc?)
5: How do other DMs operate their pre-planned dungeons? This is a very new aspect to me, and as such, I am looking for any experience that I can learn from before failing.

Thank you all for your time.

Gelcur
2018-04-07, 11:18 AM
Misleading title, more like dungeon planning/populating. I'll take a crack at it, I love to build dungeons. My suggestions are by no means the only way of creating a dungeon but they are sort of tried and true techniques you find in a lot of modules, etc.

I have very little experience with planning out dungeons for multiple visits (under a city and necessary for the progression of plot)