PDA

View Full Version : Filipino Folklore in Pathfinder: Can A GM Add New Monsters

Cap'n Gravelock
2018-04-08, 05:20 AM
Now that I've recently started GM'ing, I've also gotten a group of locals to play Pathfinder with me. Many in the group were impressed that the Pathfinder Bestiaries included monsters from Filipino folklore like tikbalangs, tiyanaks and aswangs. However, I've been wondering if I could add more monsters from Pinoy folklore that aren't included in the bestiaries.

Are there any supplemental materials that can allow me to do this?

Very sorry for asking so much as I'm new to this whole GM'ing business...

DeTess
2018-04-08, 05:24 AM
I'm not familiar with filipino folklore, but have you tried googling dnd 3.5 [creature name] stats? If it doesn't exist officially, someone might have home-brewed it. If you aren't sure if the homebrew is balanced, drop links in the thread here and people can give their opinion.

MeimuHakurei
2018-04-08, 05:27 AM
Are there any monsters those mythological creatures are similar to? It's probably enough to take one of those as a chassis, add special abilities fitting the lore and also adjust ability scores if needed. There's several templates in Pathfinder that, to an extent, allow you to shift the stats and CR appropriately (more than one or two templates makes it harder to fit the right CR)

Cap'n Gravelock
2018-04-08, 06:40 AM
This thing:

KARKARISON
In Ilocos, the karkarison is a night apparition comprised of a cart or kalesa being pulled by a headless horse or carabao. Sometimes the cart also has headless passengers and a headless coach. It is believed the karkarison brings death to the persons it passes by out in the open, pulling their souls along for a ride.

And before you ask, I'm from the aforementioned region of Ilocos in the Philippines. When I was a kid my aunt would scare me with stories about this thing. She said it'd come get me if I didn't sleep at noon.

Knaight
2018-04-08, 07:08 AM