PDA

View Full Version : Help vs higher level paladin

Darkstryder401
2018-04-10, 01:08 PM
I am playing a level 9 mystic theurge. I am in line to be terminated by a higher level paladin for turning my back on the ruling government. I was a former agent who did not like the decisions being made. We are currently in a war with a technologically advanced army that is pretty much kicking the crap out of us. My group has really been the only ones to survive a full on fight with them. But I need help dealing with this paladin and he paladin army. I don't really know what paladins are capable of. If I was a full level 9 wizard I wouldn't worry too much about it.

AnimeTheCat
2018-04-10, 01:29 PM
I am playing a level 9 mystic theurge. I am in line to be terminated by a higher level paladin for turning my back on the ruling government. I was a former agent who did not like the decisions being made. We are currently in a war with a technologically advanced army that is pretty much kicking the crap out of us. My group has really been the only ones to survive a full on fight with them. But I need help dealing with this paladin and he paladin army. I don't really know what paladins are capable of. If I was a full level 9 wizard I wouldn't worry too much about it.

As a level 9 Theurge I'm Guessing you're Cleric 3/Wizard 3/Mystic Theurge 3 right? With that, you're essentially Wizard 6/Cleric 6 so you should have access to Wizard and Cleric Spells of 3rd level (and a lot of them at that). You've got access to some very useful utility spells that target the typical weaknesses of Paladin (and other Martial type characters) like Fly and Ray of Exhaustion to shut down charging and pull yourself (and others) into a relatively safe range. Ray of Exhaustion is pretty great in the fact that even on a successful save the target is still fatigued which means penalties and no running, which means no charging.