PDA

View Full Version : A tale of incredible bad luck

Sahe
2018-04-12, 09:12 PM
So I recently started playing DnD and in my first adventure I was a glorified meat-shield.

My character is a Tiefling Barb, hardly optimal, but I like the idea that her rage stems from her demonic heritage. I run around with 15 Str, 15 Dex and 14 Con, have an AC of 16 with my sword/board setup (boy am I glad I didn't go for a two-handed weapon).

We played a little adventure and had four encounters: 2 Goblin Ambushes with 4 and 2 of the ankle biters another one the Sorceror pretty much nuked and the final one with like...6 Goblins, a Bugbear and giant wolf thing. The rest of the Party was a Bard, a Paladin, a Sorceror and a Ranger. We leveled up from 1 to 2 during a short rest. Over the course of the adventure I took a total of 50+ Damage (stopped counting after that), I should've taken even more but the GM misinterpreted the Dodge Rules. I was critted twice. I dropped unconcious once (with a crit that would've instakilled me if I had been any other class thanks to Rage Resistance and by the end pretty much all of the healing had been expended on me. Disadvantaged Attack Rolls against me didn't really seem to matter and on the other hand the few attacks I could do a whopping 3 of them landed...all of them while raging, all of them doing 6 damage.

If you're wondering why so much of the attacks where focused on her, it was because I was playing her as the protective mama bear she is. A former Mercenary she watched her unit get slaughtered and doesn't like losing her fighting companions and is pretty stubborn and usually first into the fray. Add to that the environment was dominated by caves and a paladin who rolled 1s on his initiative checks twice in a row.