PDA

View Full Version : Help with non-human lycanthropes

evnaz
2018-04-17, 02:48 AM
I'm very new to 5e with a small background in 3.5e however with a new campaign starting soon I'd like to revise an old character of fine

he was a kobold werecrow

I was wondering how I'd be able to stat for no-human races since it doesn't state much in the MM on it and what is does say is fairly vague any ideas?

Unoriginal
2018-04-17, 03:14 AM
I'm very new to 5e with a small background in 3.5e however with a new campaign starting soon I'd like to revise an old character of fine

he was a kobold werecrow

I was wondering how I'd be able to stat for no-human races since it doesn't state much in the MM on it and what is does say is fairly vague any ideas?

The stats for Kobold as a player race are in the Volo's Guide to Monster.

That being said, I don't think many DMs would authorize a lycanthrope as a PC. It'd them way stronger than the rest of the group.

Finback
2018-04-17, 04:00 AM
As noted above, lycanthropes can be VERY powerful, and your DM may not want to unbalance the dynamics.

However, if this was me? My workaround would be - when you rave-out*, you start using MM kenku-based stats. You get a +1 to your dex (since you already have a +2 - a +5 would be insane), and you get the Perception +2 and Stealth +5. You lose your ability to speak recognisably, but I'd allow you to use your movement as a flight speed, so long as you end your turn on the ground. Attacks with handheld weapons would be with disadvantage (since they'd be big-ass wings now), but you could make a 1d4+dex slashing attack with your taloned feet as you flew.

However, this is entirely untested and off the top of my head. There would be other factors at work, like what triggers your change, how often you could do this, etc.

* see what I did there

Quoz
2018-04-17, 06:39 AM
There was an unearthed arcana that had shifters; that would be a good place to start.