PDA

View Full Version : I need more help than you think

UphillWillie
2018-04-19, 02:32 PM
Hello! I posted this in a different section of the forum and was told to bring it here:

I'm looking for help. I recently started playing d&d 3.5 with some folks and I have never played before, ever. The closest thing I have played to d&d is skyrim (I know not even close really). I've asked my one friend that I know who plays and she said she only knows how to play 2 characters and knows nothing else about the game. I asked the DM to explain a few things and he acts as if I should know everything already, which I tried to read the players handbook and, it helped a little but I personally learn better from watching or doing and some of the things I have no idea about, example: I asked the DM what Hit Dice meant. I thought it would have to do with attacking, you know you Hit with Dice, he looked at me and said its in the book look it up, well, I did. It took way longer for me to do that at the table then for him to just tell me, its how you figure out your health, and i don't even know if that's the full extent of Hit Dice because that's all I could understand from the book. I know I ask a lot of questions and its not because I'm not trying to remember, its the fact that I'm new to this and only playing 3 hours a week while working 2 jobs doesn't allow me to truly get into the game as much as I would like. I was wondering if there was someone I could message all my questions to or if I could leave them here in this thread for people to answer. You can go ahead and call me a noob or a lazy person but I don't care, I do enjoy the game and I want to enjoy it more so unless I have someone say I can flood their inbox with stupid questions that "the average player knows this" crap I'm just going to go ahead and ask all the questions here. Also if you say "its in the book" and I go look and it doesn't nake sense, I'm gonna keep asking until some nice person takes the time to help me u