PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Slime Wizard

Consensus
2018-04-20, 10:33 AM
This is my first time doing any semi-serious homebrewing, so don't kill me for obvious balance mistakes please. I'd like constructive criticism on balance or other fitting powers of a goblinoid slime themed battle-mage!
Some things I feel especially unsure about is granting armor proficiency, and the 14th level feature.

Mucusmancer (Wizard Arcane Tradition)
Restriction: Goblins, Bugbears, and Hobgoblins only. The mucusmancy tradition is only taught to goblinoids.
Slime Magic:
At second level, all spells which cause fire damage now do acid or bludgeoning damage instead, because instead of conjuring the element of fire, you conjure an exploding mass of corrosive, or dense slime.

The spell Find Familiar now has the following options: Mobile Slime and Riding Ooze.

The spell Unseen Servant also takes on a corporeal form, that of a slime. It can do all the tasks outlined in the spell. It uses the statistics of the Riding Slime without the Mount or Split abilities.
Slime Crafter
You also learn how to make a slime without casting spells. If you spend a week and 150 gp for the proper ingredients, you can make a Gray Ooze. This Gray Ooze is loyal to you unto death, but only understands simple commands.
Radushkan Battle-Mage:
At second level, you gain proficiency in Medium Armor and Shields, as well as the knowledge of how to make Cethalt. Celthalt is a secret goblinoid metal which can resist all corrosion. You can make it with access to any forge and a component pouch. Items made of Cethal cannot be corroded, and are immune to acid damage. One wearing Cethal armor is resistant to acid damage.

Summon Ooze Army: