PDA

View Full Version : Optimization The Age of Barbarians: A Guide for post-Mordenkainen's Barbarians

Protato
2018-04-27, 11:35 AM
Hello one and hello all, this is my first attempt at making a class guide. When going through the otherwise good guide "I'll NEVER Die! (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?389546-I-ll-NEVER-Die!-(A-Guide-to-the-5E-Barbarian))", I noticed it was a bit outdated, being several years old and only really talking about PHB options. Well, this guide seeks to change that, with a mix of newer content and my own subjective ratings for abilities! With that, I hope you enjoy and find this guide helpful.

The Barbarian in 5e is THE tank class, even more than a Fighter. Fighters, Rangers, and Paladins have a good hit die of 1d10, but the Barbarian has a HD of 1d12. That doesn't SEEM like a big difference but when playing, you'll notice your HP stays ahead of the curve versus other martials. Of course, Barbarians aren't perfect. Unlike Fighters, they don't get a ton of ASIs and unlike Rangers and Paladins they don't get spellcasting. They also, in my opinion, have relatively weak subclasses, or at least a few that are "better" in some way. Skills are also a sore spot for you. Add to all this, you're quite MAD (Multiple Attribute Dependent) if you want good Strength and Unarmored Defense. However, with that said, their tankiness manages to make the whole class worthwhile, and plus, it's just fun to be a big angry wall of muscle.

Overall, pros and cons of Barbarism.

Pros
If you want to facetank all day and shrug off the times they DO hit you
If you want to be amazing at grappling
If you want to play something fairly simple but decide a Fighter isn't for you

Cons
If you want to be good at social situations (you CAN RP and build them to be good at them but the base Barbarian isn't built for it at all)
If you want to focus on utility or skill use
If you want to play someone with spellcasting