PDA

View Full Version : Optimization always favoring certain gear?

skunk3
2018-05-11, 02:01 AM
Since I started playing D&D again and scouring every book for weapon/shield/armor enhancements, weapons, armors, wondrous items, et al, I have noticed something. It seems to me that I have definitely adopted favorite bits of gear almost regardless of what class I am playing. Sure, different classes will have some 'must-have' items sometimes that I either want on their own or made into some custom item with other properties added to it, but generally speaking certain things I find myself gravitating towards a LOT. Surely I am not the only one, right?

For example:

Mithral light buckler. You don't need to be proficient with it, it weighs almost nothing, and it opens the door for some nice enhancements that you otherwise might not have access to.

Other examples: Belt of Battle (I want one of these for every character), Boots of Sidestepping, Gloves of the Master Strategist, Vambraces of Warding, etc.

Armor / shield enhancements that I almost always go for:

medium fortification (+3)
ghost ward - Enhancement bonus counts towards touch AC? Yes, please. (+1)
empyreal (+2)
durable (+500 gp)
called (+2,000 gp)
mirror image (+20,000 gp)
soulfire - for certain campaigns. It is pricey, but man is it sweet. (+4)
(greater) Healing (+32,000 gp)
speed (+6,000 gp)

weapon enhancements:

defending (+1)
magebane (+1)
wounding (+2)
spellblade (+6,000 gp)
slow burst (+5,000 gp)
enervating (+2)
sudden stunning (+2,000 gp)
lifedrinker (+38,000 gp)
bane (+1)
enfeebling (+1)
holy / unholy (+2)
nervewrack (+1)
dispelling (+6,000 gp)

Obviously I don't use all of these all of the time, but I find myself selecting these quite frequently.

Vizzerdrix
2018-05-11, 02:09 AM
Folding boat, and shapesand. I can always, always find a use for these. Of course that means I cant use wis as a dump stat most of the time.

skunk3
2018-05-11, 02:11 AM