PDA

View Full Version : Ask Me Anything About Conan the Cimmerian as written by Robert E. Howard

Hand_of_Vecna
2018-06-01, 07:01 PM
Conan the Barbarian is one of the most iconic characters of fantasy fiction, it is thus not surprising that his name comes up in countless conversations about warriors in games like Dungeons & Dragons. Even in a bibliophilic community like this one, I find that most people tend to be more familiar with the idea of Conan than with the stories by his creator Robert E Howard.

I love the Schwarzenegger films as much as anyone and it was their influence that led me to pick up Conan for the first time when I was burned out at the end of a harrowing week of midterms. I was in the mood for schlock and instead I was blown away. Since then I’ve become a huge advocate of Howard’s work.

I’ve read all of Howard’s Conan stories dozens of times as well as every scholarly article on Conan I’ve come across. If it matters to you, I have an English degree. Ask me anything about the literary Conan.

I'll start off with a couple obvious ones.

What is your favorite Conan story?

Hey, I said about Conan not me.

My favorite Conan story is actually one that tends to be ignored by both academics and various adaptations The God in the Bowl (GitB). GitB stands out for a few reasons; it is one of the few stories where a young Conan appears as a thief, it stands out as it actually has relatively little action. The bulk of the story is a battle of will between Conan and a high ranking member of the city watch. Conan is surrounded and keeps an entire patrol at bay by sneering and matter of factly stating his abilities.

How X is Conan? Can Conan do X?